RSS

How to perform a Lumbar Puncture

28 Mar

Howdy friends! A few weeks ago we spent some time talking about vector drawings in Illustrator. The assignment in my Illustration Techniques class was to create a vector drawing illustrating a medical procedure. We actually went to the Graham Clinic Performance Centre not too far away from our academic building and two paramedics showed us a couple of medical procedures. We took a lot of pictures and videos to use as references. I was really drawn to the Lumbar Puncture procedure, therefore, that is the one I chose to focus on. Below are the two vector illustrations that I made. All of the drawings were initially sketches on paper and then I scanned them into the computer. I used the pen tool in Illustrator to create a digital version of the Procedure.


Simunyu_F_LumbarPuncture_watera

Simunyu_F_LumbarPuncture2_waterbNot having had any previous experience with vector drawings, I can say I have learned a lot from this assignment. Time management was also something learned from this because

1. The information regarding the procedure had to be gathered

2. Sketches had to be developed

3. A digital version had to be created

This assignment, like many others, was quite physical and because of the controlled hand movements with the mouse, I temporarily injured my wrist and shoulder… but all is well now! There is actually a proper way of sitting down to do these illustrations so as to avoid injuring yourself. Just one day, I will be a pro at that.. hopefully :) It was a challenging but also fun project to do :D

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “How to perform a Lumbar Puncture

  1. Lauren Meyer

    March 30, 2014 at 9:26 pm

    I recommend a standing desk! It can do wonders for your shoulders and back.

     
  2. fsimun2

    March 30, 2014 at 11:46 pm

    haha thanks lauren! I would have to consider that :D

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

